The Front Porch: No Hiding Allowed

Hey Beautiful,

Are you out there living your life being your bold, daring, beautiful self?

Or are you dimming your light? Maybe even hiding it altogether? 

Girl, I got you.

Years ago, I hid my light so completely I lost the Miss America pageant.

It was a horrible, painful experience that I wouldn’t trade for anything. Because it taught me the value of letting my light shine.

No matter what.

And I want to help you do the same, which is why I’m sharing a couple of exercises to get you started.

You’ve got this. I believe in you. 

Xoxo

LWYA Mic Drop: Don’t put yourself on sale

As women, sometimes it seems like second nature to discount ourselves. As I said in my book Collecting Confidence:

As women, sometimes we dumb ourselves down. We play ourselves small and mistake opportunities for obstacles because of it. It’s not that we’re taking anything for granted, aren’t grateful, or don’t value what’s been given to us. Our silent conviction that we aren’t “all that much” seeps into our perspective on opportunities. If you’re thinking, How can something valuable happen to me? I’m gonna stop you right there, just like I stopped Amy. That’s not humility; that’s self-loathing . . . an unhealthy mentality that’s not doing you any favors. 

And we need to stop that nonsense. Right now. 

We have a job to do. A big one. A world that needs YOU and YOUR calling. And that means we need to stop putting ourselves on sale.

Alas, that’s easier said than done, so here are a couple of questions to get you pondering how you can turn that thinking around.

Why do you think we often tend to “dumb ourselves down”? 

What do you think it means to “know your worth”? 

LWYA Showcase: The Twisty Twin Ring

One of the reasons why I love jewelry so much is that it’s one of the best ways to make a statement without saying a word. Like my Twisty Twin ring. It’s a bold, daring yet beautifully elegant. Learn more here.

Catch up: From Faith to Fame--Tamron Hall’s Inspiring Story  

Tamron Hall went from Small Texas town to Emmy winning talk show host. Tamron’s story reminded me that faith is our constant no matter what we’re going through, and that there is always more for you in the future. 

Coming soon: Dear Kim!

Have a question for Kim on collecting confidence, finding your calling, how to love who you are or more? Email me and you might have your question answered in an upcoming Front Porch.